Cartoon and Illustration

Eyes, check!

So, yesterday was another check mark off the systems analysis that has become my life as of late.  Went to the ophthalmologist to have my vision checked, post-hospital stay.  She declared me medically sound.

The reason for this is that back when I was around 12 I had another immune break down similar to that I’ve been going through with this acute anemia, and ended up with Toxoplasmosis that settled in my left eye.  For a while they were worried I might lose sight in that eye, but actually here it is forty years later and that’s my stronger eye.  The doctor said she found scarring (a form of pigmentation actually) on the retina from that earlier event, but it’s completely inert and nothing to worry about.

No detached retinas.  No cataracts.  No sign of macular degeneration to speak of.

So I’m good.

I took a walk around the lake to celebrate, to let the dilation fluid wear off a bit, and just to see if I could do it.  I did it.

I’m still a bit fatigued, even after a good night’s sleep, but I think I must be getting better.  Going in for more blood work today, so we’ll see if my numbers are up tomorrow when I go in for the reevaluation.  At very least they should have eliminated a couple more possible reasons for the anemia.

At this point it’s just becoming a nuisance.  I’d like to get back to normal life, but until my energy comes back in full that’s simply not possible.  I’m also a little embarrassed to have to keep telling people about my health.  It’s silly I know, but I don’t want to be one of those people who goes on and on about his health problems.  Life’s too sweet to spend it talking about doctor’s visits all the time.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Eyes, check!

  1. Oh, and have I told you about my problems with my LUMBAGO? oy! what a pain that is… and then I had that thing with the you know… ach! it was like I never should’a been born, tears in my eyes kinda pain, I’m tellin’ ya… then there was that time… Oy! Oh – OOOH – Ouch!! …(smirk smirk) 🙂

Leave a Reply

