Cartoon and Illustration

Glass houses

Just a short post today.  In the past week or two I’ve been made personally aware of bigotry against Republicans.  Not that I plan to whine about how I’m a victim of something–but it does require a bit of double-think on the part of people who have bumper stickers that say things like:  “ObamaCares, Republicans Don’t!”  Or the folks on FaceBook who posted or reposted:  “Daylight Savings Time is here; be sure to set you clocks back one hour (or 100 years if you’re a Republican).”

Insert almost any other identifier into the proceeding sentences and you’d be quickly hog-piled for being a bigot, racist, hater, etc.  But it’s open season on Republicans–really?

But like I said, I’m not going to whine about it.

I would, however, like to point out the paradox of anyone saying that they hate any group because of said group’s “motives”.  If I am not allowed to presume on the motives of anyone without being called a “hater”, then why should anyone else be allowed to presume on my own motives?

Further, I will not allow for the false presumption that I’m “misinformed”.  I’m plenty informed–maybe over-informed at times (I certainly don’t care to be forced to go around with all this political junk in my head ready at a moment’s notice to defend myself or those causes I support).

Anyway, you get the idea.  If you’re going to go around throwing stones, you shouldn’t live in a glass house.

(Hey, that’s pretty good.  Someone should write that down–could use a tweak or two, but pretty good.)

Standard

One thought on “Glass houses

Leave a Reply

