Cartoon and Illustration

Heroes Convention begins (for me) tomorrow!

I have not blogged in forever it seems.  I’ve been busy penciling and inking on a new comic book, The Mob of Zion (perhaps best described as a cross between Dick Tracy and X-men), and preparing for Heroes Convention in Charlotte this coming weekend.  It’s going to be huge.  Last year the number of fans who showed up was estimated at around 60,000.  While this may be considered a drop in the bucket compared to shows like San Diego Comic Con, it was enough to shut down traffic in downtown last year.  I can only imagine that it will be even bigger this year.

Besides preparing for my own table, I have had to prepare for a table for my “peeps” (does anyone still say “peeps”?) in the Southeast Chapter of the National Cartoonist Society.  I’ll be at AA-306, and they’ll be at AA-305 on the convention floor (or something like that–if it turns out backward, no biggie).  

I’m doing my best to be a working artist and at the same time giving others “permission” to be artistic as well.  This is to say, that I am amazed at the amount of talented artists out there who do not consider their own work worthy to be looked at by anyone.  They come to shows (some have their samples, many do not) and are afraid to show their work.  This needs to stop.  So I’m going to do what I can to stop it.

Believe me, I know what it feels like to be emotionally pummeled when showing one’s work.  It’s happened to me enough in my life, and it makes one “gun shy”.  But I’m going to do my best to make sure that people who come to my table (and the SECNCS table) get some positive reinforcement.  I’m not promising that everyone who comes by my table is going to walk away with a contract to draw comic books for a living (I can barely manage that myself)–but if they’re wanting to pursue comics as a serious job, then they need to get used to the idea of showing their work!

So come by if you’re in Charlotte.  I’ll be handing out free stuff, selling other stuff, and trying to give a little nudge in the right direction to other artists.

Heroes Convention is put on by Heroes Aren’t Hard to Find–with over 300 active creators from the comics industry appearing there it’s the best comic book show in the country!  Held yearly at the Charlotte Convention Center.  $40 will get you in all weekend.  Show hours are Friday June 20 11am-7pm, Saturday June 21 10am-6pm (with auction next door at 8pm), and Sunday June 22 11am-6pm.

Tell them Doodle sent you.

Image

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

