Cartoon and Illustration

Middle Georgia Comicon ’14 notes

So the weekend was spent in Macon, GA without Karin!  (That was the worst part of the weekend).Image

Above: Close-up of my table on Saturday–with the catchall question:  “Does your Dog like Waffles?”  Many people actually responded positively to this question when asked.  Only a few walked away with confused looks on their faces.

Image 

Above:  My booth on Sunday when I decided to “invite people into my living room”.   This is the great thing about first year shows, they usually give artists waaayyy more space than we’re used to.  Note for future reference–get a huge display and take it with to every show, just in case.  As it was I was looking around for ways to increase my presence in the space given.  I considered calling a local talent agency for a couple of back up dancers–but the budget wouldn’t have handled that.

The second most irritating thing about the show–the drive through Georgia to get there.  Hello!  Georgia! (GoogleMaps, etc.) Every bit of traffic should not HAVE to go through Atlanta!  Make the alternate routes obvious and get people moving again.  It took me well over 5 hours to make the trip that was supposed to slightly less than four.

Non-irritating thing about the show!  The volunteers there were super-nice!!  I mean they were on the spot telling me how to hook up the wi-fi, asking if I needed water or snacks, picking up trash, helping me unload and load my car–I can’t say enough good stuff about that.  Also found out that the waiters and waitresses in Macon are much the same.  So, super friendly city–visit there if you can.

Third most irritating thing about the show–the hotel and arena were about a mile from everything else in town.  Seriously, the parking lot surrounding the building was acres in size and beyond that were a lot of empty buildings from when that area was an industrial center.  If someone put in a bagel/sandwich shop within walking distance from the hotel they’d make a fortune.  Heck, a rolling hot-dog stand would be enough.

Non-irritating thing about the show!  Got to meet Jason Virus from “The Walking Dead”.  We were next to one another all weekend and hit it off pretty well.  Jason plays a frequent zombie on TWD, as well as being a Macon Fire-Fighter and leader of Sugar Virus, a local metal band that’s been together for 20 years (good run for any band, anywhere).

Fourth most irritating thing about the show (but this one isn’t anyone’s fault), my temporary crown and leg stitches were bothering me a bit.

Non-irritating thing about the show!  The First Aid station (“Night Nurse” as they called it) was right up front and they had tylenol for me when I forgot and packed mine up on Sunday morning.

Fourth most irritating thing about the show–poor turn out.  Sad to say the show was not as well attended as it might have been.  We didn’t have hoards of people pushing by.  It was more like a Sunday stroll around the lake for most.

Non-irritating thing about the show!  Got to meet a lot of nice people who had time to talk for a while.

Fifth most irritating thing about the show–lost money.  I’m pretty sure that a lot of other people did okay.  Not great, but at least one other guest artist came by talking about how this was one of the rare times when he had money at the end of a show.  So kudos to those who DID make money.

Non-irritating thing about the show!  I think some of the people who didn’t buy at the show may be sending me money in the near future.  (Got a couple of emails and FB messages today already). 

So the world isn’t all that dark.

Oh, and I met The Flash…

Image

Been wanting to meet him for a long time.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

