Cartoon and Illustration

Congratulations to the Seahawks–is my work worth any more now?

JSgapnl

So I understand that the Seattle Seahawks won the Superbowl yesterday.  I didn’t watch the game, so I’m taking the word of bunch of posts online that say that team won.  Sorry to disappoint, but I’m not much of a sports fan–I have, however, done a lot of licensed artwork for various teams over the years.

Most of it was done when I was working full time at a tee-shirt factory back in the early 90s.  We’d get in stuff almost every day that had to do with this team or that.  Frankly it bored me to tears and I was much happier when I was working on Batman, Dick Tracy, Peanuts, The Simpsons, etc. (And I really did work on all those).

But back in 2009 I did a huge campaign for the Seattle Seahawks and Jones Soda Co.  I was hired by SuperBIG Creative in Seattle to do comic book style artwork for a series of boxed sets of licensed Seahawks soft drinks.  I did three boxes; one for Green Apple, one for Berry Lemonade, and one for Cream Soda.  I also did labels for the bottles, trading cards, and a life-sized Point of Purchase (POP) display for grocery stores in the Seattle area.  It was a lot of work, and I came down with a relapse of Mono getting it done.  I even had to farm out some of the work to my friend Kaysha Siemens in order to get it done on time. (I think it’s her color work on this image, BTW).

I took the POP display with me to MegaCon (Orlando) in 2010.  It was a huge pain to drag it across the parking lot that was only about a mile from the convention center that year.  There was a gale force wind blowing and it was really not worth the effort–because people don’t come to a comic book convention to look at or talk about football!  Especially not about a team that’s on the exact other side of the country.

I did get paid for the artwork.  Pretty well, in fact.  I even got a couple more jobs out of my connection to SuperBIG Creative.  But there was a lot of junk on the web then about how stupid it was that Jones Soda was the “official” soda of the Seattle Seahawks.  (Apparently some people thought you would not be able to buy a Coca-Cola at the games.  So far as I know, this was not the case–being “official” meant that Jones paid the Seahawks a bunch of money for prominent display of their logo at the stadium, and for licensing deals like I was working on.)

Anyway, the money ran out a long time ago.  But I’ve still got the artwork (well most of it) and I’m wondering, what with the Seahawks being a huge deal now, if any of that artwork is now worth anyone’s notice.  Is it?  Anyone looking for a unique gift for the Seahawks fan on your gift list?

Valentines Day is just around the corner!  What says “I love you” better than 2009 artwork designed around a team that won the 2014 Superbowl?  I mean it was just 5 years prior.  You might say that I helped “build the franchise” (even if the Seahawks and Jones Soda did end the licensing deal in 2010).

You know?  “A rising tide raises all the boats”?  What about my boat?

Standard

Leave a Reply

