Cartoon and Illustration

D-Day for Doodle (Part II)

So while I was doing all that I was doing in Charlotte–shooting Kickstarter vids for Game of Horror, meeting with editors from Valiant, PaperCutz, Boom Studios, etc.  Mike Leonard was at home putting up the new DoorMan online comic.

www.doormanonline.net

So now I’ve got two projects going, right?

Wrong.  I’ve got a comic book called Spectra/Polaris to draw now that I’m home.  I haven’t actually got the script for that yet–but I do have the money for it in my possession, and I have a character sketch that has to be done in conjunction with it before I begin the story pencils.

So that’s three?

Well, maybe.  But I’ve got a conference call with a screen-writer and his producer coming up on Wednesday.  We’ve discussed my rates and the studio seems fine with them.  I’ve signed the NDA (which is why I’m not naming any names here), and so this one seems like it might go the distance.

Four?

Actually I’m in discussion with another client about a Graphic Novel based on his script.  Should know more in a couple of weeks.

Five.

And then there’s the fact that Mike Leonard and I are in the process of putting together a licensing imprint company that features “geek ware” items that we think might be a big hit.

Six.

If you don’t count all the work I’ve been doing as chairman of the Southeast Chapter of the National Cartoonists Society.  We’ve got a “Cartoon Art Appreciation Day” planned for July 13 at the Asheville Barnes & Nobel.  I was planning to do a cook out with the Asheville gang on July 2.  I’ve been helping out the Glynn Arts Association (Glynn County, GA) with items for their upcoming Jack Davis retrospective…

http://glynnart.org/events/jack-davis-from-the-beginning

Plus there’s an event in September with the Patriot Rovers Program in Greensboro…

http://patriotrovers.org/get-involved/events

And our SECNCS annual meeting in Knoxville, October 25-27 to plan.

That’s 10.

Did I mention I’m having a gallery show opening in October as well?

So I’m thinking that’s about 11.  In the meantime I have to play a couple of gigs with Gypsy Bandwagon, get ready to go to San Diego Comic Con and keep things going around home.

It feels kind of like I’m busy.  Can’t say for sure though.  Does this sound busy to anyone else?

So, hopefully now you understood what I was saying in the last post about conventions seeming in the past to revolve around a single event.  Whereas this year’s Heroes Convention seems to have contained many, many, events that have all blurred together into one huge series of events that are–well, kind of confusing me at the moment.  My head is so full of all that I’ve yet to do that I’m finding it difficult to keep track.

So, I’m no Joint Chiefs of Staff, Patton, McArthur or anyone like that–but it feels like everything has been leading up to this moment.  I hope the outcome is what I am anticipating.

Standard

One thought on “D-Day for Doodle (Part II)

Leave a Reply

