Cartoon and Illustration

Feeling much better, thanks.

The past couple of weeks have been rough.

I feel a bit like repeating that old Rodney Dangerfield line, “I’m okay now, but let me tell ya’–last week I was in rough shape!”  I really was in rough shape, for the past couple of weeks.

I got the flu–or some flu-like thing around January 10.  But my wife and I had scheduled a trip to see her Dad in Illinois and help settle the estate of her recently passed step-Mother. We went, and I felt lousy.

Between home in the mountains of North Carolina and Cincinnati, Ohio, my ears were plugged up so that I could barely hear a word that was said.  The drumming of the rain on the car top, however, nearly drove me insane.  I actually had to put on my polar-fleece cap to try to drown out some of the noise.

Thankfully, Chicagoland was unseasonably warm and so I did not contract pneumonia.  I was still miserable the whole time with body aches and upper respiratory symptoms.  Fortunately for me (and everyone around me) I did not ever develop nausea or vomiting.  My stomach did have it’s hurting moments, but nothing dire.  I just lay there like Cameron in “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”.

Seriously, Karin came in on Tuesday where I was sprawled on her Dad’s old recliner with a comforter spread out and she sang, “When Cameron was in Egypt land…let my Cameron go.”  It was incredibly funny–but I didn’t laugh too hard, it hurt too much to move.

By Wednesday evening I felt well enough to accompany Karin to dinner with her Dad, our niece, Ashley, and Ashley’s husband, Zach.  We had pizza, and I babbled on about some comic book historical thing for what must have seemed like hours for them (giving the total history of Max Gaines, EC Comics, DC Comics and All-American Comics before getting to the point).  I can still vaguely recall their stunned faces.  Sorry about that.

During my rant I worried that I was going to give them all the flu.  Apparently I didn’t.

By Friday I only felt lousy, rather than really lousy.  Which is good because did I mention that Ashley was pregnant?  She gave birth to their first son, Greyson Cruz Gibson, sometime on Friday, January 18, and my brother-in-law (the Grandfather) and his whole family, as well as my sister-in-law also came to Chicagoland to be in on that (as well as the aforementioned estate stuff).

Again, I worried about passing germs along to the crowd–even while I enjoyed talking with my other 3 nieces and nephew on that side of the family.  Great kids.  Love them all so much…great fun to be around, even when ill.

On Saturday we loaded up the car with a lot of stuff.  So much stuff that there was some worry that we’d wreck a fly-spring, but we didn’t.  Then on Sunday we drove back home to NC–well, Karin drove.  I mostly sat in the car and coped with still feeling–um, not great.

Monday I unloaded the car.  Our living room is still a shambles.

Tuesday Karin came down with it–big time.  She got the whole enchilada–or rather lost the whole enchilada.  It takes that sort of thing to stop her from pushing herself, and even then she’s been trying to do too much stuff.

After two full weeks, and five days, I’m finally back in the studio for what feels like a full day’s work.  Mostly I’ve just been dealing with old emails.

I’ve been unsubscribing from various news services, simply because I can’t handle them sending me daily updates about everything.  I know it’s important to be aware, but give me a break!  I don’t need updates every day on most of this stuff–much less twice daily like some of these services do.

Anyway, my career is progressing in the meantime.  I’ve agreed in principle to a regular project and am talking to another publisher about stuff to fill in the blanks, and I’ve got a game design project pending too.  Considering that on Friday I was afraid we were going to go broke from all the unexpected expenses and time off of work, things are looking much better.

Yesterday the sermon text at church was on Matthew chapter 6–in particular the part about not worrying.   The problem is that we Christians often go down that list of things not to worry about as if by worrying about the list we eliminate the worries from our lives.  Not so.  It turns out that the whole chapter kind of works backward.  If we have our treasure stored up in Heaven, and we’ve got our vision set on the kingdom of God, and we have God as our master–then we don’t have to worry about the little things like food and clothes etc.

Standard

One thought on “Feeling much better, thanks.

  1. Cris says:

    It’d be great if we could listen when God says “Let me worry about you…” We never do. So glad you and Karin are feeling better..

Leave a Reply

