Cartoon and Illustration

This one should catch someone’s eye

Artwork copyright © James E. Lyle

Page 8 of “In the Day of Battle”.  This may well be one of the best pages I’ve ever drawn.  It was certainly the best I’d drawn up to that point, and I was extremely proud of it when friends came to visit during the production of this story.  You may notice some interesting graffiti in the background: “Sirveaux” is a reference to an episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000 wherein Tom Servo decided to change how his name was spelled.  A big fan of MST3K, I had to include that–it also kind of works with the mediaeval armor–which again, I am still very proud of.  I know pride can be a bad thing, but in this case it drove me on to trying to work harder to do better art.

Standard

Leave a Reply

